Low Fat Oat Meal Banana Bread

Thursdays are my grocery shopping days. A wise person told me 6 years ago that stores stock up their shelves and produce section on Thursdays and one is sure to find fresh fruits and vegetables on that day. Since then, grocery days are always Thursdays. This is of course not counting the other days when am running to the store for an extra can milk or baking powder or another loaf of bread:) So while I was writing down  my grocery shopping list, I peeked into the fruit bowl and there were 3 overripe bananas staring at me. I had 2 options, 1. to toss them into the trash can before the fruit flies take over my kitchen  2. Bake this beautiful bread. Obviously I happily went with option2. 60 minutes later my home was smelling beautiful and this yummy bread was on my counter. The original recipe is from here. I made some changes to the recipe. The result was a super moist, healthy, low fat bread for a quick breakfast or  snack.

Ingredients

1 1/4 cup Whole wheat pastry flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

3 ripe bananas

1 cup uncooked old fashioned oats

3tspoons vegetable oil

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon powder

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg powder

1/4 cup butter scotch chips or chocolate chips ( i used butterscotch)

Method

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and flour a loaf pan and set aside.

2. Stir together the dry ingredients except the butterscotch chips or chocolate chips.

3. In a separate bowl, mash bananas with a fork and add egg and oil and mix well.

4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix well.

5. Add butterscotch chips or chocolate chips and gently mix.

6. Pour the batter into the greased loaf pan and bake for 50 minutes.

7. Check if bread is done by inserting a toothpick. If toothpick comes out clean, remove the pan from oven and cool for 10minutes. Transfer the bread on to a wire rack and cool for another 15 minutes.

8. Using a serrated knife, cut into 10 slices.

Leave a comment